RSS

The Way Home

17 Dec

They say your home is where your heart is, but when you first move in I don’t feel like this is quite true.  My family finally made the big move this weekend, and I can say we have been living in our new home now for four days and while all of our “stuff” is in the house it still doesn’t feel like ours.  I keep finding little oddities about the house in the way the previous owners set it up and think “why did they do this”.  It is these small oddities that keep giving this nagging feeling that we are intruding on someone else’s property, someone else’s home.

So when does the feeling of newness go away?  My thoughts are once the oddities become my oddities, and memories are formed…where I can say, ohh yeah I remember painting on the ceiling and not cleaning it up.  But it would be my mistake on the ceiling, my mess and my memory.

I expect over the next couple of months my family and I will continue to fix the previous owner’s oddities while continuing to create our own and soon their home will transform into ours.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
